13 Comments
Nov 19, 2020Liked by Marlon Weems

I'm not going anywhere. They are closing the schools in my city in the next day or two. As much as I love sweet potato pie, and boy do I, it's not worth the risk.

Expand full comment
author

HMU on Facebook PJ and perhaps I’ll share my Mom’s recipe! ☺️

Expand full comment
Nov 19, 2020Liked by Marlon Weems

Thank you! I actually have my mom's and I love it. It's made with marshmallows! Super sticky and yummy.

Expand full comment
founding
Nov 18, 2020Liked by Marlon Weems

No, luckily, but I'm trying to convince my parents and my 97 year old grandma to go virtual this year... They really want to just act like things aren't spiking right now!

Expand full comment
author

Wow, I hope you can talk grandma into staying at home this year!

Expand full comment
Nov 20, 2020Liked by Marlon Weems

Nope. Everybody at my table voted for president-elect Biden and vice president-elect Harris. The only indigestion will come from dishes made by your fraternity brother. 🙄😬😆

Expand full comment
author

No comment 😂

Expand full comment
Nov 20, 2020Liked by Marlon Weems

🤣 JK...he's a pretty good cook.

Expand full comment
Nov 19, 2020Liked by Marlon Weems

We normally join my wife's sister's family less than a mile away - well they are blind supporters of Trump (something to do with the lie that he's a friend of Israel) - but as they are relaxed about who comes and goes in their house (as many 'freedom' advocates are), we won't be going... sadly they aren't in our pod, and we avoid mentioning politics at all costs when we are there. Wishing you and everyone a safe Holiday and rest of 2020.... Let's hope 2021 will be better, with our new and legally elected President.

Expand full comment
Nov 19, 2020Liked by Marlon Weems

Per current plans, yes, and yes, but am thinking that we may want to skip it this year, as I am not certain of their masking/handwashing diligence. Strange times.

Expand full comment
author

I know what you mean. We’re staying at home with no visitors this year, which also means we won’t have any opposing political confrontations! 😉

Expand full comment
Nov 19, 2020Liked by Marlon Weems

Heading to Charlottesville Virginia for a long stay as we celebrate Thanksgiving and Christmas there and await the birth of out 9th grandchild (Cassandra). Baby expected December which lives in infamy for other reasons. My daughter and husband and my wife all quite Left so I will be trying to keep them at bay. I am quite conservative except I abhor Trump and can not comprehend our a serious student of conservative thought can support him. He is destroying the brand. Marlon is great to keep in touch with you here. All the best to you and your family.

Expand full comment
author

Sounds like you’ll have an interesting holiday, John. Also, thank you for becoming a paid subscriber!

Expand full comment