12 Comments
Commenting has been turned off for this post
Jan 6, 2022Liked by Marlon Weems
author

It’s amazing how often art imitates life.

Expand full comment
Jan 6, 2022Liked by Marlon Weems

It's almost as disgusting as what many state legislatures are doing to restrict voting rights. I can't believe the Justice Dept has not been able to bring criminal charges against Trump and his goon squad.

Expand full comment
author

One thing the last several years has revealed is just how ill-equipped, and to a large extent unwilling, to hold those at the highest levels accountable. Frankly, I am shocked by the lack of urgency, not only by the Justice Department but by Democratic leadership overall. I hope my assessment is incorrect, but they don’t seem to be up to the task.

Expand full comment
founding
Jan 9, 2022Liked by Marlon Weems

I agree with you, Marlon. The Dems just can't seem to get the ball across the finish line. Hopefully, the 2022 election will get it right but "hope is not a strategy."

Expand full comment
author

I'm afraid that if Democrats don't address voting rights effectively before 2022, I think it may be a wrap on our democracy.

Expand full comment
Jan 6, 2022Liked by Marlon Weems

FYI, Jamie Raskin has just published a memoir, Unthinkable, which I have just started and am enjoying immensely.

Expand full comment
author

I just heard about it yesterday. He did an extended interview with Nicole Wallace. I cannot imagine dealing losing a child to suicide then dealing with the insurrection in such close proximity.

Expand full comment

I was on a semester break from work and watched it unfold live on CNN.

I was horrified at the time and remain so. For the first time in my life, I am not hopeful that our democracy will continue. In fact, I think it will continue to quickly erode. The tiny ray of hope is that the Dems actually stick together and eliminate the filibuster and pass comprehensive voting rights legislation…

Expand full comment
author

I share your concerns, Joan. I never thought I’d say this, but I believe that by this time next year, America may no longer be a democracy.

Expand full comment

I never thought I'd say this either, but I agree. Thanks for your subscription!

Expand full comment
author

Re the subscription, it’s my pleasure!

Expand full comment